On starting a writing group in my town

Posted: June 4, 2015 in writing, writing group
Tags: , ,

Well i finally did it, I shall be heading up a writing group come next month. The venue is close to my house and the landlady was lovely – She has a private room upstairs in her pub which we can use the first Wednesday of every month.

I almost started a writing group for aspiring screenwriters a few years ago but then i got too busy to continue with it, this time I am going to make time to do it.

2 years ago, a friend of mine who knows I like to write asked me to go along to a women’s writers group. We turned up to an already established writers group and there were several female members there. First of all let me say I’m not very good at reading stuff out loud, I am very self conscious and so joining the group where I had to read out things that I had written really made a massive difference to my confidence when writing. I realised that things I thought were too extreme to put on paper were actually not that extreme at all.

A few weeks later the lady who owned the venue asked us to take part in a competition to write a novella of 30,000 words. My friend and i took part in the challenge – i found a newspaper article and developed it from that (because there is nothing more interesting than the weird crap people do in real life) Lucky for me we moved house and were without internet for a month which gave me the time to write without being hugely distracted. So I started writing the story, which I really got into. The competition ended up not really happening in the end for one reason or another.

Then the Ramsgate’s got writing talent competition came up – a few months after – at this point I had taken my original 30k words a little further and in a new direction. I hadn’t entered the year before but the year before that I came second, so i entered it again this time (in 2013) and WON! the job was to write a captivating first paragraph – which I apparently managed to do. My prize was to have my work seen by an agent as well as some feedback as I wrote (assuming i could complete a novel) – So that was my path – I had to finish it, I finished the first (50th) draft a year later.

Without the help or encouragement of the ladies in the writing group then I would never have been able to finish my novel, it was great to not feel foolish in pursuing a career in writing. These poor women didn’t really have the same taste as me and i did subject them to some rather horrific stuff ha ha – but they were invaluable in terms of helping me to have the confidence to put myself forward. the group has disbanded now and so I feel I would like to help someone else realise their novel writing dream.

Until next time

Leave a Reply

